City to Trails

A city girl's journey to the trails of North Carolina

The Plan

2 Comments

About a year ago I started to plan a camping trip, and not your standard car camping. I wanted to load up a pack (something I still don’t have) and camp “off the grid” for a few days. Then, I started my research. Big mistake. It scared the crap out of me! Everything I was reading reminded me of an episode of Man vs. Wild and I am far from Bear Grylls. My planning came to a complete halt. There was absolutely no way I could hack it in the woods for 3 days.

download

Now, my plan has completely changed. I still want to try backpacking, but its all about baby steps.  I work for one of the major outdoor retailers in town. I am surrounded by people who have done these sorts of things hundreds of times. Many of my friends spend their off time relaxing and taking in the beautiful nature that surrounds us. Boy, am I lucky! I know that I won’t be hiking and camping alone for a long time. Actually, that will probably never happen because I am too paranoid, but I finally have people who will let me tag along and annoy them with my unrelenting questions of hows, whys and what ifs.

Challenge/plan number one- convince someone to take me on a hike.

Challenge/plan number two-keep an open mind.

2 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. I mean the picture! 🙂

Leave a Reply

